The Roosevelt High School Foundation was formed in 1984. The Foundation helps to provide learning and educational opportunities to Roosevelt students and teachers, provides funds for improvements to infrastructure, and is also involved in community improvement efforts in the Roosevelt neighborhood. Funds received are allocated by the Board for various educational programs and capital improvements.

On a regular basis, the Roosevelt High School Foundation provides funds or support to the following:

  • The Roosevelt Hall of Fame to honor distinguished alumni which serves as an inspiration to today’s students

  • Powell grants for students to attend programs outside of Roosevelt that further their education experience

  • Powell grants for teachers to attend conferences to further their teaching skills

  • Reunion support by providing revolving funds for class reunions to facilitate class mailings and secure a meeting facility

  • Principal’s Discretionary funds

  • Reunion support by providing alumni reunion tours of the school

  • Alumni relations including maintenance of a website and alumni newsletter, “The Rider Recall”

  • Capital Campaign support, including total funds in excess of $6,000,000 to date

  • Sponsorship of the $500 Outstanding Teacher Award in recognition of exceptional teaching

  • Grants to each year’s Senior Party, Roosevelt’s substance-free, graduation celebration



DeMario Luttrell ’07

Rose Green

Scott Nelson ’81

Marie Gernes ’02

Past President
Nick Callison '02

Kevin Biggs

Board Members

Julianne Hilmes-Bartlett ’09
Kathy Dorff
Jackson Dahlquist ’09
Erik Lundy
Kate Mead ’00
Nate Nielsen ’07
Erin Sears ’94
Ted Stroope ’99
Mary Wine ’08
Abby Zegers


Foundation Administration
Natalie Pohlman


Special Projects/Events
Kari Stone of ADMIRIA

​Digital Media/Graphic Design
Holly Baumgartel of ADMIRIA

P.O. Box 12087
Des Moines, IA 50312

facebook icon.png

© 2020  Theodore Roosevelt High School Foundation. Des Moines, Iowa.  Created by Admiria.