top of page
  • Writer's pictureTRHS Foundation

Letter From Our New President

Greetings Roosevelt Alumni & Community,

2020 has tested our fortitude in so many unusual and unexpected ways. It has massively impacted our students and their ability to both commune and engage at our physical buildings and in their activities outside the classroom. To that end, the need for continued fortitude will shape the work our Foundation endeavors upon to support Roosevelt in this new school year. Despite its long list of challenges, this past school year provided much inspiration. 

In terms of demonstrating this fortitude in the Roosevelt community, first on my list was the work of the Senior Party Committee. Forced to re-imagine celebrating our Seniors, this incredible group lined the Polk Boulevard medians, from Grand Ave. to Kingman Blvd., with navy blue and white Roosevelt pennants personalized for each individual Senior. All 535 of them. Under the beautiful sycamore canopy, graduates, their families, and a multitude of our community flocked to Polk to see seniors claim their spot - students taking pictures in their caps and gowns, and families cruising or walking with bikes and strollers in tow up and down the stretch. I'm thankful the Foundation could be one of many local organizations, businesses and families to support Roosevelt seniors with this extraordinary visual "Parade of Pennants".

Further, the Foundation displayed a resilient commitment to Roosevelt in awarding over $38,000 in scholarships to over 37 seniors of the Class of 2019, and provided $25,000 to our staff and teachers directly to supplement student and classroom needs, before physical school was closed at Spring Break.

Turning the page on a new year shouldn't happen without expressing thanks to our outgoing leaders and members and welcoming new volunteers to our Board.  First, we express our gratitude to outgoing President DeMario Lutrell ('07) for directing our Board with confidence and a constant eye on Roosevelt's continued commitment to excellence. With that, we welcome our incoming president for the 2021-22 school year, Kate Sloterdyke Mead ('00). I feel confident teaming with DeMario and Kate to combine their perspectives as alumni with my developing experience as a Roosevelt parent and member of the larger TRHS community. Another thank you goes to retiring Board Member Kathy Dorff for her selfless commitment to our Foundation - she has shared her passion and talents with us for 3 years. Kathy's overall devotion to Roosevelt emulates what it is to be a Roosevelt Roughrider. 

We welcome a large, talented number of Board members. We are grateful they join us as we max our Board at 24 members for the first time in years, all in acknowledgement of the work we must deliver over our tenures. Roosevelt alumni joining our board include: Stephen Dorff ('09), Dylan Huey ('00), AJ Johnson ('75), Charlotte Lozier, Kameron Middlebrooks ('07) and Mak Suceska ('06). We also welcome Roosevelt community parents Steve Malone, Bryan Higgins and Kelly Roberson. 

With your continued support of the Roosevelt Foundation, our new Board commits to navigating the complexities of this year with continued fortitude. This strength and resilience is critical to maintain our community's shared goal - to honor Roosevelt's rich history and to support excellence in our students and teachers. We sincerely thank you for your partnership in this great work.  Onward to the challenges and opportunities of this school year. Let us rise together, Roosevelt! Go Riders!

Rose Green Roosevelt Parent to Elle (11th), Margo (9th) and Charlotte (3rd) Foundation President 2020-2021

640 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page