top of page
  • Writer's pictureTRHS Foundation

2024 Scholarships: Beyond The Halls of Roosevelt

Each year, we partner with the Roosevelt administration to present our Hall of Fame and foundation scholarship awards during the annual “Night of Excellence.” The school also honors dozens of students in each class for their standout efforts throughout the year. Hundreds of students and their families attend and learn about our distinguished alumni and their diversified careers.


This year we inducted Harry Bookey, Alicia Knapp and Jeff Jacobson (posthumous) into the Hall of Fame. You can learn more about each honoree on our blog, or the Des Moines Register, which covered the event.


Roosevelt Foundation board member (and current TRHS parent) Betsy Mitchell was honored by Principal Schappaugh as “Contributor of the Year.” At the same time, the Art Department’s Nicole James was named “Teacher of the Year.”


The foundation awarded more than $30,000 in scholarships to seniors who are moving on to trade school, community college, and four-year institutions. New this year was a partnership with the John Dee Bright College at Drake University.


Bright College offers affordable access to Drake excellence through innovative, high-impact, collaborative learning leading to a Drake University associate degree in Business, Organization and Professional Studies or in the Integrated Arts, Sciences, and Humanities in two years. Alumni of Bright College go on to pursue professional employment, continuing education, or both. Bright College students who graduate in good standing are automatically admitted to Drake University’s bachelor-degree pathways and will have fulfilled their bachelor-degree general education requirements at Drake.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page